Mopinion now compliant with Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) Level AA

We are happy to announce that the Mopinion software is now WCAG 2.1 Level AA compliant. This means that our front-end software and feedback surveys conform to the strict WCAG guidelines set in place by the World Wide Web Consortium (W3C) – making our software more accessible to all types of web users, especially those with disabilities.


The Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) is an internationally recognised technical standard that ‘makes web content more accessible to people with disabilities’. Web ‘content’ in this context refers to natural information such as text, images and sounds, or code / markup that defines structure and presentation. The guidelines address the following criteria: mobile accessibility, people with low vision, and people with cognitive and learning disabilities.

‘WCAG-proof’ Feedback Forms

Mopinion users can activate WCAG proof feedback forms in the settings of their feedback forms. This can be found in the form builder under CONFIGURE. Simply switch the toggle ‘Add WCAG Styling’ to ON. See example below.

Mopinion: Mopinion now compliant with Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) Level AA - Add WCAG styling

When the toggle is switched on, you can then review whether your colour contrast is in compliance with the standard. For example, below you can see the notification telling the user that their current ratio is 1.48, which does not meet the WCAG standard of 4.5.

Once you’ve completed these steps in the form builder, your feedback form will look something like this:

Mopinion: Mopinion now compliant with Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) Level AA - WCAG Feedback Form
Left: non-WCAG compliant, Right: WCAG compliant

Mopinion has been working hard to make its software conform with the WCAG 2.1. Our compliance will help contribute to making the web more user-friendly for all

Kees Wolters, Co-Founder/ Chief of Marketing at Mopinion

What are the WCAG Guidelines?

The twelve guidelines included in the WCAG are organised under four principles: perceivable, operable, understandable and robust – all of which enable users with disabilities to use the web content.

Under these principles, there are guidelines that must be followed by WCAG compliant software companies:

  • Perceivable: Content must be perceivable (e.g. providing text alternatives for any non-text content)
  • Operable: User interface (UI) and navigation must be operable (e.g. making all functionality available from a keyboard)
  • Understandable: Information and operation of the user interface must be understandable (e.g. text content must be readable and easy to understand)
  • Robust: Robust content and reliable interpretation (e.g. content is compatible with current and future user agents – including assistive technologies)

For the complete list of guidelines, click here.

Need proof of compliance?

View our Accessibility Statement here